Meisa Award for Experimental Research on Surface and Materials Science Francisco Javier Espinoza 

The Francisco Espinoza Award for Experimental Research will have its second edition in 2017.  It will be awarded by the SMCSTM to recognize experimental scientific work related to surface and materials science.


  • The candidate should be a regular member of the SMCTSM and proposed by an also regular member of the SMCTSM.
  • The candidate or the proponent should submit a (maximum) five page description of the work of the candidate to the SMCTSM Executive Committee. The proposal should outline the importance and impact of the scientific work of the candidate in areas related to surface and
    materials science.
  • The proposal should be accompanied by supporting material (articles, patents, etc.) and by the full CV of the candidate. 


The recipient of the Francisco Javier Espinoza will receive a diploma and a monetray prize.

Awarding Committee

The jury will be constituted by five renowned members of SMCTSM in the field of surface and materials science.

Important information 

  • The application deadline is September 4th, 2017. 
  • The documentation should be sent by e-mail (Dr.  Francisco Servando Aguirre Tostado, General Secretary of the SMCSTM, ) in the form of separate PDF files.
  • The winner(s) will be announced during the Conference General Assembly on September 29th.

Intercovamex Award to the Best Masters and PhD Thesis

The formation of new researchers is primordial for the advance of science and technology. The SMCTSM acknowledge the effort of this new scientist by granting an Award for the Best Master and Doctoral thesis which is generously sponsored by Intercovamex. Participation is restricted to those student members of the SMCTSM who graduated between the 1st August 2016 and the 31th July 2017.


The documentation to participatein either of the two awardsmust include:

  1. Anapplication letter to the Board of Directors of the SMCTSM requesting their participation in this contest. This letter should include a brief description (less than 5 pages long with 1.5 line spacing) of the research reported in his/her thesis and must have the signed approval of the student’s tutor or advisor. The document could be in English or Spanish. 
  2. Front Cover of the thesis.
  3. Copies of any publications or expert opinions about the relevance of the work.
  4. Copy of the receipt of the applicant´s 2017 membership payment.
  5. Copy of the receipt of the tutor or advisor applicant´s 2017 membership payment.
  6. The winner will be announced during the General Assembly on September 29th, 2017. The winner or his/her tutor or advisor must be present to receive his/her prize.


A Diploma and $7,000  pesos (Master Thesis) or $14,000  pesos (PhD Thesis)


The jury will be constituted by five renowned members of SMCTSM in the field of surface science and materials.

Important information 

Application deadline to IntercovamexAward to the best Doctoral and Master Theses: August 30th, 2017

All the documentation in separate pdf files must be sent to the Committee member (Vocal de Publicaciones) of the SMCTSM.

By e-mail to:

Dr. Cristo Manuel Yee Rendón
Publication Chair (Vocal de Publicaciones) SMCTSM


Best Conference Poster Award


The poster session at the conference offers a unique opportunity for all the participants to interact directly with the expositor in more close and friendly atmosphere. Each poster presented in the session fill all the technical requirements necessary to be displayed however some of works mark out a difference either by the relevant research or by the creativity employed to present the material. The Best Conference Poster Award was created by the SMCTSM   distinguish those works which by its efforts have gain a recognition by the audience.


The poster must accomplish relative simple requirements:

  1. Must  register its participation for the conference
  2. Must be presented during the session at which was assigned.


The prize for the Best Conference Poster will receive ad diploma and a Monetary prize.


The jury will be formed by the invited speakers of the conference that may question the expositor about the poster presented at the session.

Important information 

All the posters will participate in this award provided that they were exhibited during the appointed session. No further application is required. The winner will be contacted by the information provided during its register at the conference.  Any further question should be directed to:

Dr. Leticia Pérez Arrieta

Workshop Chair (Vocal de Cursos) SMCTSM

Cristo Manuel Yee Rendón
Publication Chair (Vocal de Publicaciones SMCTSM)